fb-100b.png twitter-100.pnglinkedin-64.png | NEWSLETTER  |  CONTACT |

Christine Kaddous

kaddous-christine100.jpg



Professor at the Law Faculty of the University of Geneva
Chaire Jean Monnet ad Personam
Director of the Centre d'études juridiques européennes




Christine Kaddous is Professor at the University of Geneva since 2002 and visiting Professor at the Montesquieu University in Bordeaux, Nice Sophia Antipolis, Paris II (Panthéon Assas) as well as the College of Europe (since 2015). She is Director of the Centre d’études juridiques européennes (CEJE) and holds a Jean Monnet Chair ad personam « EU Constitutional and Substantive Law ».

Christine Kaddous pursued her legal studies in Switzerland (BA and PhD at the University of Neuchâtel), the United Kingdom (MA in Law, LL.M. (Cantab) at the University of Cambridge) and Belgium (MA in European Studies at the Université Libre de Bruxelles). She was admitted to the Bar and was a practicing lawyer for a number of years in the field of Commercial Law, first in Neuchâtel, then in Geneva.

She pursues her teaching and research activities in EU Law and International Law, Dispute Settlement, External Relations of the EU with an emphasis on the EU-WTO relations, and on the EU-Switzerland Bilateral Agreements.

Christine Kaddous is President of the Swiss Society of International Law (Société Suisse de droit international, SSDI-SVIR) since 2008,  Vice-President of the Association suisse pour le droit européen (ASDE), a member of the Executive Committee of the Association suisse d’étude de l’intégration européenne (ECSA-Suisse) and a member of the Steering Committee of the Centre européen de la culture. She is also member of many national and international associations or societies related to her areas of expertise such as the Société française de droit international (SFDI), the International Law Association (ILA), the European Society of International Law (ESIL), the Commission pour l’Etude des Communautés européennes (CEDECE) and the Swiss Association Arbitration (ASA).

Since 2001, she is editor of the Collection ‘Dossiers de droit européen’ (DDE), published today by Schulthess/LGDJ (Zürich/Paris) and member of a number of scientific review committees, namely of the Swiss Review of International and European Law (SRIEL, Revue suisse de droit international et européen - RSDIE), the Journal du droit européen (JDE) and the Austrian Journal of Public and International Law (Zeitschrift für öffentliches Recht).

She is currently taking part in research projects in the fields of EU-Switzerland Bilateral Relations, the free movement of persons and services, as well as in the field of consumer protection and multilingualism.

Areas of expertise

EU Law, International Law, European and International Dispute Settlement, International Economic Law (including Investment Law), International Agreements concluded by the EU, EU-WTO Relations, EU-Switzerland Relations, Law and Politics in the areas of Free Movement of Goods, Persons, Services and Capital, Air and Land Transport, Public Procurement, Technical Obstacles to trade, Environment and Health Protection.

arrow4.png List of publications

Email
Telephone : +41 22 379 84 89
Fax: +41 22 379 86 62

Address:

Centre d’études juridiques européennes
Université de Genève
UNI MAIL - Bd du Pont d’Arve 40
CH - 1211 Genève 4

Bureau : UNI MAIL 5066

fb-100b.png twitter-100.pnglinkedin-64.png | NEWSLETTER  |  CONTACT |

Christine Kaddous

kaddous-christine100.jpg



Professeur à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Genève
Chaire Jean Monnet ad Personam
Directeur du Centre d'études juridiques européennes





Christine Kaddous est professeur à l’Université de Genève depuis 2002. Elle a été et est professeur invité à l’Université Montesquieu de Bordeaux, de Nice Sophia Antipolis et de Paris II (Panthéon Assas). Elle est directeur du Centre d’études juridiques européennes et est titulaire d’une Chaire Jean Monnet ad personam "Droit constitutionnel et matériel de l’Union européenne".

Christine Kaddous a poursuivi ses études en droit en Suisse (licence en droit et doctorat de l’Université de Neuchâtel), au Royaume-Uni (master en droit, LL.M. de l’Université de Cambridge) et en Belgique (master en études européennes de l’Université Libre de Bruxelles). Elle est également titulaire du brevet d’avocat et a exercé pendant plusieurs années le droit commercial dans un cabinet d’avocats à Neuchâtel puis Genève.

Ses domaines d’enseignement et de recherche couvrent le droit de l’Union européenne et le droit international, le règlement des différends au sein de l’UE, les relations extérieures de l’UE, et en particulier les relations entre le droit de l’UE et le droit de l’OMC ainsi que les accords bilatéraux entre la Suisse et l’UE.

Christine Kaddous préside la Société suisse de droit international(SSDI) depuis 2008. Elle est vice-présidente de l’Association suisse pour le droit européen(ASDE). Elle est membre du Comité de l’Association suisse d’étude de l’intégration européenne (ECSA-Suisse) et du Comité directeur du Centre européen de la culture. Elle est membre de diverses autres sociétés nationales et internationales dans ses domaines d’activités, notamment la société française de droit international (SFDI), l’International Law Association (ILA), la European Society of International Law (ESIL), la Commission pour l’Etude des Communautés européennes (CEDECE) et l’Association suisse de l'arbitrage (ASA).

Elle dirige, depuis 2001, la Collection des Dossiers de droit européen (DDE), éditée par Helbing/Bruylant/LGDJ (Bâle/Genève/Bruxelles/Paris) et est membre de comités scientifiques et de publication de différentes revues scientifiques, notamment de la Revue suisse de droit international et européen (RSDIE/SZIER), du Journal du droit européen (JDE) et du Zeitschrift für öffentliches Recht (Austrian Journal of Public and International Law). Elle participe actuellement à des projets de recherche dans les domaines des relations bilatérales entre la Suisse et l’Union européenne, de la libre circulation des personnes, de la protection des consommateurs et du multilinguisme.

Domaines d'activités

Droit de l’Union européenne, droit international, contentieux européen et international, droit international économique (y compris investissements), droit européen des droits de l’homme, accords internationaux conclus par l’Union européenne, relations UE-OMC, relations Suisse-UE, droit et politiques notamment dans les domaines du commerce des marchandises, de la libre circulation des personnes, de la prestation des services, des mouvements de capitaux, des transports aériens et terrestres, des marchés publics, des obstacles techniques aux échanges, de la protection de l’environnement et de la santé.

arrow4.png Liste des publications

Courriel
Téléphone : +41 22 379 84 89
Fax: +41 22 379 86 62

Adresse:

Centre d’études juridiques européennes
Université de Genève
UNI MAIL - Bd du Pont d’Arve 40
CH - 1211 Genève 4

Bureau : UNI MAIL 5066